Lost and Drowning (2)

After : Time, Some Alcohol, A Day Job

A variation of : https://heartdeapirate.wordpress.com/2016/09/01/lost-and-drowning/

What am I doing here in this foreign place?
How many more days will I be here?
Four days it has been, how many more?

Rain falling and pooling in the small places,
everything reflected everywhere rippling and distorted.
Monolithic buildings obscured by night and rain.
Four days it has been in this familiarly foreign place.

Along the separation of time and memories of the lost,
I walked among memorials of the nameless and wronged.
Pavements lined above debated history.

What am I doing here in this foreign place?
Bleached hair coloured by the kaleidoscope of the city.
Leather jacket barely sheltering my body.
I’m slowly being shaped as I stand here battered and weathered.

Am I crying or is it the rain?
Cigarette smoke rising feebly wet dangling between my lips.
Every vehicle and person muffled by the rain.
A bubble of isolation being swept in time.

Memories like a train of thoughts following me.
A board of arrivals and departures before me.
Every passing platform, every arrival and departure a moment.
Which platform should I go on? Which train should I take?
Four days it has been and how many more?

Leave a comment